March 11, 2014 MTC Provo, Utah

Image

Why Hellloooooo Family and Friends!

Guess what I got this week??? My reassignment!!!!! I am so excited ( of course getting a visa is pretty darn exciting too but I’m settling)… Soooo I hope that ellipses was enough time for you to solidify your guesses! I’ll give you a hint…its somewhere west… somewhere coastal, somewhere with lots of movie stars… California Los Angeles!!!!! I will be serving in areas such as: Beverly Hills, Malibu, Bel Air, Hollywood, Santa Monica etc. Talk about visa compensation!!! If anyone has any requests, I’m making a list of movie stars to baptize! We have our reassignment, but we don’t know exactly when we leave, I have my suspicions that we will be leaving at 4 in the morning on Monday the 17th. I may be  completely wrong, but I will get my travel documents by the end of this week and shoot you a quick email detailing what my travel plans are! Try to be awake and alert then because I can call you from the airport and say hi if you answer!!! You might be in class, but this is important too haha.
I also have more exciting news concerning Brazil visa waiters! Apparently there are so many Brazil waiters in the US that the church travel office is giving the elders and sisters who have been waiting the longest a temporary visa (about 2 weeks) to fly down to the Brazil MTC to hardcore review the language! It is super crazy and kind of confusing, but there have been elders and sisters waiting MONTHS and they get the opportunity to fly down to Brazil for a short time to review Portuguese! We’ll see if I’m out long enough in L.A. to need a temporary visa.
In other not as exciting news, I got my last shot this week and am all prepped to go foreign. I also got a hair cut at the MTC barber shop! I have to admit that I was scared to get a free hair cut here (I wasn’t so sure how it would turn out) but it is great! Nothing drastic, just a couple inches and redefining things, I’m really relieved!
I forgot to tell you last week, but I am the Sister Training Leader over the zone and it has been an AWESOME experience. I am in charge of training new sisters that come into our zone and this last week I had a really neat experience. There were 3 districts in my zone, one of which were missionaries who were headed to Cape Verde in Africa. They were really awesome, but they left this last week and we miss them! Also, every Wednesday some elders and sisters are chosen to welcome the new missionaries to the MTC. I hosted a few sisters, but the last sister that I hosted, we started talking, and I found out that she was the one missionary coming into the MTC who was headed to Cape Verde! I got really excited and brought her to meet the district in my zone who were leaving and they talked forever. Then I realized that she was one of the four sisters that I was training that night! It sounds silly, but it was an awesome coincidence and I was so grateful I was able to ease her fears and introduce her to a bunch of missionaries going to her mission   before they left and she felt alone!
 In other news, my time at the MTC is coming to a close! I am so grateful that we don’t have to try and learn more Portuguese grammar rules this week! Just LOTS of review. We even had the opportunity to Skype with real Brasileiros last friday! We talked to this adorable couple who just got their mission call to Mozambique. They talk very fast, but they were wonderful! The wife was talking to us and we figured out that she was trying to ask us if we knew any African music. We shook our heads no and told her we didn’t and she kept saying “yes you do!” we were so confused, then she broke out into the opening of the Lion King theme song lololol “WAAAAAAAA SAVENYAAAAA” We all laughed so hard. She told us that as soon as she and her husband walked off the plane in Mozambique she is going to sing that at the top of her lungs 🙂
The last update I have is kind of a funny one too. Our zone is very small since the last district left we’ve shrunk even more. The bishopric wants our zone to have musical numbers every sunday during sacrament though… so guess who has done one every Sunday? haha. Yup. It’s kind of silly, but a wonderful opportunity. I sing to my companions, 6 elders and the mission presidency and their wives. I’m kind of glad I’m not very good at playing the piano.
Sorry if this letter seems really scatter brained, I am multitasking and running out of computer time! I’d love to leave you a message though! This week and very recently I have been thinking about all of the callings we have in our lives. We are called to be and to do so many things in this life. Do you realize that in our deepest and most important calls, we are called of God? We are called as sisters, daughters, mothers, fathers, students, teachers, primary teachers, relief society presidents, visiting teachers etc. This is intimidating and overwhelming, I know! But I have the epiphany this week that God does not set us up for failure. We are his children and he will ALWAYS provide a way for our ends to be met. Sometimes not in the ways we expect or want, but I testify that He knows what He is doing. I love Him and I know that I am called as a missionary and although it is hard at times, I can only succeed when I turn it over to Him.  I love you all and can’t wait to write you from Cali!
-Love Sister Dean
ps. make sure to take note of my new address! I love getting letters and would cry if letters were sent to the MTC and I was not there! I don’t have my new address but I will share as soon as i get it!
Leave a Reply

