May 19, 2014 Cascavel Brazil

Image

Queridos e amados família e amigos,

Brazil is so wonderful! Yesterday we watched a husband and wife that we´ve been teaching enter into the waters of baptismo! It was one of the most exciting and peaceful moments of my life. It is funny how we met Izael and Denise. We were originally teaching Denise´s mother and her husband, but one night Denise joined in on a lesson. We chatted and were at her house the next day and before we knew it they were dressed in white! I am so blessed to be doing the Lord´s work here.

Denise and Izael have were so prepared; we were just there to nudge them in the right direction. They have two beautiful children, Gustavo e Victoria. Gustavo is 6 and just about the cutest 6 year old in the entire world! They are already talking about setting a date to be sealed in the temple 🙂 I wish I wish I could be there to witness it, but I am overjoyed to know the temple is in their sights. We have 2 more weeks left in this transfer in which we will keep working with their family and I have a feeling both Sister Cassiano and I will be here at least one more transfer. The actual baptism was beautiful and slightly funny. Denise went first and when Izael was up, he practically threw himself in the water and there was a bit of a wet audience lol. After the baptism sister Cassiano and I sang “A Child’s Prayer” in Portuguese and English and it was beautiful. We keep joking with all of the members how at our next baptism I´ll be singing the Portuguese part and my Brazilian companion will sing English 🙂  With lots of prayer, we hope to soften the hearts of Denise´s family; Denise and Izael are shining examples of believers of Christ to their family and we´ll see what time brings. 

 In other news, I finally know why everyone asks me if I know the TV show Supernatural haha! All of the Brazillians here try to say my name ( sEEster Jean/Geen) and then they ask me about Supernatural; Dean is the name of one of the main characters on the show and everyone here loves watching dubbed American shows! It was a funny moment of realization for me and my companion, I will have to start using that as a street contact “do you know supernatural? I´m related to the main character… well we have the same first name… can we share a message about how Jesus Christ can defeat all of the demons in your life?” I´ll polish it out later.

 I have also discovered that the bugs here are very different and exotic. I saw my first hot wheel sized barata (cockroach). Those little devils can really move. I´m a little terrified, but I have an iron resolve to conquer the wild life here (found a lizard in the shower the last night and I didn´t even whimper). Also the moths here are ginormous. I was watching one the other night and I realized these moths are so big; they flap their wings like birds. 

 I am truly grateful to be here despite the bugs. My mission is a once in a lifetime chance to have the power and authority to introduce the gospel into the lives of Heavenly Father´s children. I am soooooooooooo beyond grateful for all of the support, letters and prayers I have from you! Te amo! 

Com Amor, 

Sister Dean

Leave a Reply

